WA's New Recreational Fishing Boat Licence (RFBL)

This new TAX on the pleasure we get from our boats is not quite done and dusted. At 4pm this Wednesday 17th March a Disallowance Motion will be voted on in State Parliament. If the Motion PASSES, the RFBL will be dead in the water.

I urge all West Aussies to email their local Member (or all LIB, NAT, Greens and INDs, as I did) asking them to vote in favour of this Disallowance Motion. I think it's a given that ALP members will support the Disallowance Motion.

Email addresses can be found here:

WA MLA List

They can use the money from the massive increases in boat licence fees. Depending on the boat length, rego fees have gone up by up to 49.82%

This is the last chance available to those of us who object to this TAX on the pleasure we get from our boats.

Please make the most of it.

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:25

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:25
Thanks GB

I am disgusted at this tax. I will be emailing our local member to voice my opinion.

AnswerID: 409018

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:29

Monday, Mar 15, 2010 at 23:29
David, send it to Murray Cowper as well as Kim Hames. They've both sat on their hands.

FollowupID: 679005

Reply By: stumbly1 - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 09:51

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 09:51
They brought in the compulsory small boat skippers ticket. having owned boats for 18 years, but not owning one at the time, I was surprised that I had to sit the ticket. All because I didn't have a boat registered for 5 consecutive years.
Then they upped the boat rego fees.
Now they want us to pay to fish from a boat.
I will most definetly be following your example, they have been targeting the recreational fisherman too much lately.
Some thing has to be done to protect stocks, but a constant cash grab is not the answer.
I don't believe this money will be spent wisely by the government and just be squandered on irrelevant research, or worse, shifted sideways to pad out the governments other stuff ups.
End of rant.
AnswerID: 409054

Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 09:54

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 09:54
So what's really happening in the 'mighty' west, with all of the mining activity surely the Govt is loaded with income from royalties etc.
AnswerID: 409055

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 10:10

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 10:10
You would think so DIO, but this Govt wants it all.

The relevant Minister has already admitted that beach fishing, exempt from a licence at the moment, is the next target.

For goodness sake, WA has the biggest coastline and the smallest population out of all the States, he should just leave us alone to enjoy a pleasant pastime.

It's a TAX, through and through.

FollowupID: 679022

Follow Up By: olddigger - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:01

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:01
Indeed. If they are silly enough to bring in a beach fishing licence, I have no intention of paying for one. How in hell are they going to enforce it? Cheers, Tony
FollowupID: 679052

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 10:45

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 10:45
"Changes to: Recreational Fishing Licences

A number of general licensing changes will come into effect on: 2 March 2010
Including a State-wide Recreational Fishing from Boat Licence (RFBL) and a new fee structure for existing recreational fishing licences.

It's important to remember from 2 March 2010, an RFBL is required to undertake any general fishing activity conducted with the use of a powered boat anywhere in the State of West Australia.

If you don't hold an RFBL, you can still go fishing provided you are in the company of someone who holds an RFBL and you stay within that person's bag limit."

It appears only the 'skipper' needs to hold a licence ?

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 409064

Reply By: Nik & Dee - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 11:03

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 11:03
I paid for my RFBL and went fishing on Friday, between me and my mate we paid $60 for the year and on that one day probably pulled up $150 worth of fish (Good sized Dhuy and a Queen Snapper).

I am happy to put money towards this as long as it goes to managing future fish stocks.

$30 seems a pretty small price to pay for what you get.

Also - Mainey you are right only the Skipper has to have a ticket but that does mean you are restricted to their bag limit.

Happy Fishing

Nik
AnswerID: 409068

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 13:10

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 13:10
Is a NSW fishing licence able to be used in other states or do you have to purchase one for whatever state your in?
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 409088

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 14:26

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 14:26
Dave, I love an optimist !!

FollowupID: 679046

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (Logan QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:33

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 15:33
Dave, I live in Qld where you don't need a licence to fish in the sea. So according to your logic, I shouldn't need one south of the Tweed -:)
FollowupID: 679053

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:08

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:08
Yeah I thought it might of been a dumb question sorry.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 679065

Follow Up By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:22

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:22
G'day Dave

No mate - sorry but the NSW licence is only good for NSW waters. See
http://www.dpi.nsw.gov.au/fisheries/recreational/fees for where your $$ go

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 679067

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 18:18

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 18:18
Thanks John,
I thought that might be the case.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 679075

Reply By: wafarmer - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 16:27

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 16:27

Yes another license to add to the list:

To cross the river and fish up the coast on my atv I need to have,

A recreational skipper's ticket

A boat license

A boat trailer license

A vehicle license

A drivers license

A fishing from a boat license

and in some areas an off road license for the atv which I am sure will soon be
added.

If you use a kayak or swim to cross the river or drive around a fishing from a boat license is not required and the fish can be processed which also cannot be done if you cross by boat.

If you work for a professional fisherman in any capacity you must have a professional fishermans license which means you cannot catch crayfish or abalone as an amature.

hows that for discrimination.

wafarmer
AnswerID: 409106

Follow Up By: wafarmer - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:46

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 17:46
I forgot to add you also cannot catch them as a professional either unless you hold the relevant licenses or leases.

wafarmer
FollowupID: 679071

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 23:56

Tuesday, Mar 16, 2010 at 23:56
At least the moola is going into fisheries coffers. At the moment. Believe they have just employed 8? new inspectors.
The rig

AnswerID: 409173

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Mar 18, 2010 at 13:56

Thursday, Mar 18, 2010 at 13:56
The Disallowance Motion was defeated.

This means that the new Recreational Fishing Boat Licence will stand.

Shame on the WA Govt for this.

Let's hope they will understand the level of opposition to this new TAX at the next election.

AnswerID: 409349